Music Promotion on Twitter

I am a music producer. I’m also on Twitter. Sometimes I wonder if people that follow me know exactly what I do because my tweets are not exclusive to the promotion of my craft. According to Ian from MakeItInMusic.com, I’m along the right path. One of the tips he suggests (which has also been suggested in class) is that you set a ratio of self-promotion tweets to general tweets. This is an aspect I can surely improve on, as most of my tweets do not have anything to do with my craft. There are factors that play into this (other interests, school, work), but tailoring my tweets to what I want to be known for is a good way to build my brand.

Another good tip Ian gave was to make a strong bio. On Twitter, your bio has strong SEO power. Therefore, making sure that music producer is early on in the bio will increase my chances of people linking my producer name, Blake Superior, to what I want the name to be synonymous with, me as a producer.

Many of the tips that were given have been gone over in class, which tells me promoting yourself, no matter what the field, shares some of the same techniques and methods that promoting a firm does. This has inspired me to take a deeper look into how I can maintain my social profile while still promoting my brand to be what I want it to be.

1 thought on “Music Promotion on Twitter

  1. BrianaKing

    What an interesting post. Probably the only post I’ve read that talks about social media in the music industry. A topic that was not really touched on in class. I like that you talk about how the strategies and tips we’ve learned in class can apply to you as a brand as well. As graduation approaches this is something we should remember, how to properly brand ourselves. Branding ourselves is a constant action that has already begun.

    Reply

Leave a comment